British Columbia Hospitality Foundation Scholarships Contribute to Bright Futures for BC Talent


Scholarships 2013Scholarships 2013.


October 28th, 2013(Vancouver, BC) – The British Columbia Hospitality Foundation (BCHF) is pleased to publicly announce the recipients of its annual scholarships.  It awarded three Culinary Scholarships in conjunction with the Chefs’ Table Society of British Columbia, as well as ten additional Hospitality Scholarships.  The scholarships, which hold the value of $1500 each, were presented at  the CONNECT dinner on October 28th at the Vancouver Convention Centre.

The BCHF is best known for its charitable activities related to helping hospitality industry workers with extraordinary medical costs.  It also, however, enthusiastically gives a helping hand to promising individuals who are starting a career in the hospitality field.  Bing Smith, Chair of the BCHF, states “we are thrilled to offer significant financial scholarships to both Hospitality and Culinary students.  This year’s recipients have bright futures ahead of them, and we expect they’ll be leaders in their chosen field.”

Three scholarships were awarded in conjunction with the Chefs’ Table Society of British Columbia.  The Chair of Scholarships for  the Society, Scott Jaeger, comments “we appreciate the BCHF’s work in assisting young people  to realize their dream of becoming a professional chef.”  This year’s recipients are

  • Aaron Weisgarber –  (The Sysco Scholarship) presently studying at the Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts
  • Leah Patituccia recent high school graduate , she is enroled in VCC’s culinary arts programme
  • Peter Chien (The SilverBirch Hotels Scholarship) currently studying at  the Northwest Culinary Academy of Vancouver


The BCHF also awarded ten Hospitality Scholarships to students from hospitality management programs in BC.  Scholarship recipients were:


  • Katelyn Querin – Vancouver Island University (The Peter Toigo Snr. Scholarship)
  • Patrick Lalonde – Vancouver Community College (The Lothar Heinrich Scholarship )
  • Leah Hoerger– Selkirk College (The Dick Gibbons Scholarship)
  • Joey Wojda – Camosun College
  • Tamara Salzmann – Okanagan College (The Sysco Scholarship)
  • Lisa Collyer – Douglas College (The Bert Konings Scholarship)
  • Peggy Liu – Royal Roads University
  • Matthew Nunes – Thompson Rivers University (The Thomson Okanagan Tourism Association Scholarship )
  • Darrin Mah – University of Victoria
  • Tessa Pollard– North Island College (The SilverBirch Hotels Scholarship)



Congratulations winners and we look forward to following your careers in the hospitality and culinary world!