BC Hospitality Foundation Presents 2015 Sommelier Scholarships

SS Winners-13
2015 BCHF Sommelier Scholarship winners (L-R): Melany Winslow-Hansen (sponsor; Authentic Wine & Spirits Merchants), Jesse Walters, Joanne DiGeso, Dustin Wellwood, Anna Ion, Alison Scholefield (sponsor; Okanagan Crush Pad) Charles Zuckermann Photo.

The BC Hospitality Foundation (BCHF) is becoming well known for helping hospitality workers in times of financial crisis due to medical issues, but its scholarship program is gaining widespread industry attention.

On November 3, during a tasting salon hosted by the Import Vintners & Spirits Association (IVSA) at the Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver, the BCHF presented four 2015 Sommelier Scholarships to the following:

Joanne DiGeso (Bearfoot Bistro, Whistler)

Anna Ion (Hotel Grand Pacific, Victoria)

Jesse Walters (Burdock & Co, Vancouver)

Dustin Wellwood (Aaron Peter Olfert Memorial Scholarship) (Hawksworth Restaurant, Vancouver)

Sponsored by Okanagan Crush Pad (OCP) and Authentic Wine & Spirits Merchants, these scholarships are a mentorship program designed to further individual study in wine education. Up to four $1000.00 scholarships are awarded every year. Additionally, OCP annually selects an member of the wine industry to participate in their Okanagan Wine Campus (link) program. As part of the program, the person selected is invited to produce, from start to finish, 100 cases of wine at their facility in Summerland. The proceeds from the sales of this wine are donated to the BCHF Scholarship Fund. For a list of previous winners, click HERE.

Applications for the 2016 Sommelier Scholarships are open now. For more info, please visit our Scholarships page.