2015 BCHF Our Future Leaders Scholarship Winners Announced

2015 BCHF Our Future Leaders Scholarship Winners Announced

The News:

BCHF Hospitality Scholarship 2015 winner Olena Simonova-credit Charlez Zuckermann Zook-It Photography[Vancouver, BC] On October 19th, recipients of the British Columbia Hospitality Foundation’s (BCHF) 2015 Our Future Leaders Scholarships attended the CONNECT Food + Drink + Lodging show Trends Breakfast, 15 outstanding students were presented their scholarships in front of a sold out crowd of senior industry professionals.

This year’s scholarship recipients demonstrated outstanding academic and leadership skills. Each Our Future Leaders Scholarship has a value of $1,500.00 for students to use towards further education.

Richard Carras, BCHF chair, was joined by Amrit Sandhu (Delta Hotels & Resorts), Caroline Schein (Boston Pizza), Ian Tostenson (BC Restaurants and Foodservices Association), and Paul Volk (White Spot) to present scholarship awards to the following recipients:

Three culinary scholarship recipients, selected by the Chefs’ Table Society of BC (CTS) scholarship committee, were presented by Danny Markowicz, CTS scholarship committee chair, Rob Cinkat (Sysco Vancouver) and Murray Penner (Gordon Food Service):

A special thank you to LinkBC and The Chefs’ Table Society of BC for facilitating the scholarship process.

BCHF 2015 Hospitality and Culinary winners at Connect Show-credit Charles Zuckermann Zook-It Photography
A group shot of the Hospitality and Culinary Scholarship winners with sponsors and presenters at the Connect Show 2015. Back row from L-R:  BC Hospitality Foundation board of directors chair, Richard Carras, Amrit Sandhu, Chef’s Table Society of BC scholarship chair & White Spot executive chef Danny Markowicz, Hospitality scholarship winners Shane Strom, Gwendoline Prudhomme, Sebastien Kenzle, Maik Uhlmann, Kiraya Spencer, sponsors Caroline Schien, Ian Tostenson, and Paul Volk.  Front row from L-R: Hospitality & Culinary winners Brittany Louie, Mary Wan, Rachell Hamm, Meaghan Blakely, Allie Acker, Olena Simonova, Kristen Adams, Natalia Parga, and Shawna James. Charles Zuckermann photo.

View a photo gallery of the scholarship presentation HERE, courtesy of Charles Zuckermann.

“The BCHF is proud to support the Hospitality Industry’s Future Leaders through its scholarship programme. The opportunity to meet the stars of tomorrow is inspiring. The awards presentation provides them with the recognition and encouragement they deserve.” -Alan Sacks, BCHF executive director